You might be using a Web browser that does not support standards for accessibility and user interaction. You should upgrade your browser for a better experience of this and other standards-based sites.

International Conference on Asphalt and Traffic

Add to Calendar


ICAT Asphalt Board

Chair, Asphalt Board

Kevin Burke III

Executive VP, Illinois Asphalt Pavement Assoc.


Kevin is the Executive Vice-President for the Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association (IAPA), which represents most of the hot mix asphalt producers in Illinois. Prior to joining IAPA, he spent 20 years with the Illinois Department of Transportation in the Bureau of Materials & Physical Research and the Bureau of Local Roads & Streets. Kevin graduated from Washington University in St. Louis and is a registered Professional Engineer. Kevin is in charge of IAPA's annual meeting and conference held in Springfield, Illinois.  One of the highlights of the conference is the annual presentation of scholarships to students across the State of Illinois, who are engaged in asphalt research and education.  IAPA's scholarship program was started in 1984. To date, the program has awarded over 200 scholarships worth more than $500,000. The purpose of the program is to promote knowledge of hot-mix asphalt (HMA) and HMA pavements; enhance IAPA's relationship with Engineering and Construction schools throughout the state of Illinois; and provide educational assistance to qualified students.

Vice Chairs, Asphalt Board

William Frey

Executive Director


William graduate from Purdue University 4 with a Bachelor’s in Civil Engineering.  He the worked for IDOT for over 29 years and retired in 2013.  Bill held positions in District 6 and the Central Office, from Resident Engineer to Deputy Director of Highways.  Presently, Bill serves as the Executive Director of the Associated General Contractors of Illinois (AGCI) representing highway, heavy and utility contractors throughout Illinois.


Anthony Quigley

District 1 Engineer

IDOT- Region 1

In 2017, Mr. Anthony (Tony) Quigley became the Region 1 Engineer for IDOT. Tony leads 1100 employees who handle high-profile and multifaceted projects in a region that includes the second largest metropolitan area in the country, consisting of six counties, 270 municipalities, and a 100 Townships. The State highway system in Region 1 encompasses more than 3,000 miles of highways and 1,444 bridges. Tony has served as Resident Engineer, Area Supervisor in Construction, Bureau Chief of Design, Resident Engineer in District 3 and Project Implementation Engineer. Tony earned his BSCE degree from UIUC.

Asphalt Board Members

Imad Al-Qadi

Founder Professor

University of Illinois

Katherine Au

Materials Manager


Dennis Bachman

Asset Mgt./Pvmt. & Matls. Engr.


Jay Behnke

President & CEO

S.T.A.T.E. Testing, LLC

Ross Bentsen

Senior Engineer

Quigg Engineering Inc.

Redmond Clark


Asphalt Plus

Allen Cullinan

Sr. Vice President

United Contractors Midwest

Denis Cyr

Financial Consultant

Cyr/Woertz Financial Group

Abdul Dahhan

Vice President of Engineering

Chicago Testing Laboratory

Dan Eichholz

Executive Director

IL Assoc. of Agg. Producers

John Fortmann

Vice President

TranSystems Corp.

Daniel Gallagher

COO & Vice President

Gallagher Asphalt, Corp.

Guillermo Garcia


GSG Consultants

Santiago Garcia


GSG Material Testing, Inc.

Imran Hossain

CEC Assistant Professor

Bradley University

Sihyun Kim

CEC Assistant Professor

Bradley University

Kris Maillacheruvu

CEC Professor

Bradley University

Timothy Martin

Senior Vice President

SPAAN Technologies Inc.

Maher Omar

Associate Professor

University of Sharjah

Derek Parish

District Operations Engineer


Brian Pfeifer

Engineer of Materials


William Pine

Quality Control Director

Heritage Construction & Mat'ls.

Scott Reeise

Project Manager

Illinois Civil Contractors, Inc.

Milton Sees

Government Relations

Capital Infrastructure Group

Eric Therkildsen

Vice President

Terra Engineering, Ltd.

William Vavrik

Vice President & Principal

Applied Research Assoc., Inc

Cindy Williams

Deputy Chief, Program

Implementation, Illinois Tollway

Issac Yun

Director of Project Development

Ozinga Materials