You might be using a Web browser that does not support standards for accessibility and user interaction. You should upgrade your browser for a better experience of this and other standards-based sites.

International Conference on Asphalt and Traffic

Add to Calendar


< Back

DBE Focus Board

Executive DBE Focus Board
Jennifer Killen, or “Sis” as she is widely known, joined Cook County in 2012 and serves as the first female Assistant Superintendent in the 102 year history of the Department of Transportation and Highways for Cook County.  The Department is responsible for all aspects of transportation facility planning, development, design, construction and maintenance/public works. Sis has been instrumental in the transformation of a 270 person Department from a roads centric environment to a culture with a focus on a broader range of transportation projects which foster economic and community benefits.After spending 13 years in the private sector working for public sector clients in the region and developing a strong talent and appreciation for Public Service, Sis jumped into her first Public Sector position as Bureau Chief of Transportation and Planning at the Cook County’s Highway Department.  Her role has evolved significantly during her five plus years at the County during the development and subsequent approval of the County’s first multi-modal transportation plan, Connecting Cook County.  This role further expands with the management of its implementation activities. Sis received a bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is a licensed Professional Engineer and Professional Traffic Operations Engineer.

Jennifer (Sis) Killen

Asst. Superintendent, Cook County Dept. of Trans. & Hwys.

Executive Members - DBE Focus Board

Libby Braband

Vice President


Daniel Gallagher

COO& Vice President

Gallagher Asphalt

Gustavo Giraldo

Chief Diversity & Strategic Dev.

Illinois Tollway

Michael Kleinik


Illinois Dept. of Labor

Tracy Morse

President & CEO

Images, Inc.

Leslie Sawyer

Chairman & CEO

Environmental Design Int'l.

Pamela Simon

Director, Bus. Workforce & Diversity

Illinois Dept. of Transportation

Mary Person

Director, Bus. Dev. & Compliance

Burke Burns & Pinelli, LTD

Members, DBE Focus Board

Joshua Adams

Operations Manager/IL


Tanya Adams

Vice President


Laith Alkhafaji

Assistant State Attorney

Tazewell County

Anas Alkhatib

Associate VP

Michael Baker Int'l.


Anshu Balekai


Interra, Inc. 

Jamil Bou-Saab

Sr. Vice President

Terra Engineering, Ltd.

Justin Brown

Operations Manager/Chicago


Kevin Burke III

Executive Vice President

Illinois Asphalt Pavement Assoc.


Robert Culp

Sr. Project Manager

Midwest Engineering Assoc.

Abdul Dahhan

Vice President of Engineering

Chicago Testing Laboratory

Roderick Drew

Deputy Program Manager


Darrell Eilers

Vice President

EFK Moen


John Fortmann

Vice President

TranSystems Corp.

Gillermo Garcia


GSG Consultant Inc.

Santiago Garcia


GSG Material Testing

Amit Gauri


Black Dog Corp.


Rashed Gulaid


Gulaid Consulting Engineers

Clint Heinold

Vice President

CCG Services, Inc.

Rafael Herrera

Vice President

d'Escoto, Inc. 

Kristi Lafleur

Board Member

Chicago Skyway


Ryan Macander

Vice President

Omega Inc.

Timothy Martin

Principal - Chicago Office


Robert McAndrews

Vice President

HNTB Corp.

Dan Meckes

Chairman & CEO

Crawford, Murphy & Tilly

James Messmore

Senior Vice President

Hanson Professional Services

Griselda Monsivais

Associate Vice President

Globetrotters Eng. Corp.

Luis Montgomery


2IM Group, LLC

Anthony Quigley

Engineer of Project Impl.

Region 1, IDOT


Imtiaz Rehman


Engineering Services Group

Gabriel Rodriguez

Director of Estimating

P.J. Hoerr

Harvind Singh

Executive Vice President

Singh + Associates, Inc.

Charles Stenzel

Principal & Sr. Vice President

TranSystems Corp


Ed Stritch

President & CEO

The Concord Group

Neli Vazquez-Rowland


A Safe Haven Foundation

Mae Whiteside



Michael Williams


Williams Brothers Const.


John Yonan

Superintendent of Highways

Cook County Highway Dept.