You might be using a Web browser that does not support standards for accessibility and user interaction. You should upgrade your browser for a better experience of this and other standards-based sites.

International Conference on Asphalt and Traffic

Add to Calendar

ICAT Operations Board

Chair, Operations Board

Paul Loete

Director of Highways Project Implementation,


Paul Loete has over twenty years of experience in private practice and state government in the environmental, civil, and transportation markets.  At IDOT he is accountable for the implementation of programs to accomplish the annual highway work program in conjunction with the coordination of the state’s highway activities with local and regional agencies. This encompasses the safe, efficient and sustainable delivery of the state’s highway construction program as well as maintenance and operations of the state highway system through effective engineering activities of the districts and central bureaus with 4,616 full – time employees and over $1 billion in annual construction programs.

Vice Chairs, Operations Board

Shane Larson

Vice President

Hutchison Engineering

Shane graduated from the University of Illinois in 1992 with a BS degree in Civil Engineering.  In his 17 years with IDOT, he worked in Studies and Plans, Construction and Operations.  For the last seven years of his IDOT career, he was the Operations Engineer with snow plowing responsibilities. Shane now works for Hutchison Engineering, Inc. as a Vice President.


Patrick Urich

City Manager

City of Peoria

Patrick is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day activities of the City of Peoria, including the $199 million budget, 14 departments, and approximately 766 full-time and part-time employees.  His primary mission is to instill the value of excellence in public service within the organization.  After 17 years in county government, the last 10 as Peoria County Administrator, Patrick became Peoria City Manager in 2011.  Patrick graduated from Illinois Wesleyan University and the University of Illinois at Chicago. 

Operations Board Members

Tanya Adams

Manager Community Relations

Parsons Brinckerhoff

Timothy Armbrecht

Engr. of Maintenance


Adam Burns

Group Manager

Crawford, Murphy & Tilly

Richard "Mark" DeVries

Vice President


Souhail Elhouar

CEC Professor

Bradley University

Amy Eller

Acting Engineer of Operation


Khalid Elzahaby


HBRC of Egypt

Jeffery Keirn

Region 5 Engineer


Yasser Khodair

CEC Associate Professor

Bradley University

Ryan Macander

Associate Vice President

Omega Inc.

Kevin Marchek

Region 2 Engineer


Keith Miley

Operations Engineer

Bureau of Operations, IDOT

Joseph Monroe

Dist. 8 Bureau Chief of Operations


Duane Ratermann

County Engineer

Knox County

Scott Reeise


City of Peoria

Darren Smith

Business Manager

Operating Engineers Local 649

Jeffrey South

Region 4 Engineer


Charles Stenzel

Principal & Vice President

TranSystems Corp.

Wayde Tabor

General Manager

Illinois Tollway

Steve Travia

D1 Bureau Chief of Operations