You might be using a Web browser that does not support standards for accessibility and user interaction. You should upgrade your browser for a better experience of this and other standards-based sites.

International Conference on Asphalt and Traffic

Last Year's ICAT Program



6:30 – 7:45 AM

Registration and Breakfast

7:50 – 8:30 AM

Welcome to the 2014 ICAT

The Honorable Mayor Jim Ardis, City of Peoria


AASHTO Perspective – Highway Funding & Financing

Joung Lee, Deputy Director of Management & Program Finance

AASHTO Center for Excellence in Project Finance

8:30 – 9:00 AM

Port of Miami Tunnel – A Premiere P3 Project

Joe Folco, Commercial Manager, Bouygues Civil Works Florida

9:00 – 9:30 AM

The Oregon Per-Mile Road Usage Charge Program

James Whitty, Manager, Office of Innovative Partnerships & Alt. Funding, Oregon DOT

9:30 – 10:00 AM

Leadership Challenge

Ken Hoefling, General Manager, Reman., Components and Work Tools Division, Caterpillar Inc.

10:00 – 10:30 AM



Transportation Track

Asphalt Track

Operations and Equipment Track

10:30 – 11:00 AM

Millau Viaduct – World’s Tallest Bridge

Dave Magnusen

Key Projects Manager USA

PERI Formwork Systems, Inc.

HMA on Bridge Decks

Cindy Williams

Quality Assurance Manager

Chicago DOT

Local Agency Response to

Natural Disasters

Ed Andrews

City Engineer, City of Washington

11:00 – 11:30 AM

Indiana’s I-69 Project - A Model of Project-Delivery & Funding Innovation

Samuel Sarvis,

Deputy Commissioner

Capital Program Mgt.

Indiana DOT

Maintaining Roads Into the Future

Ken Baker

Township Engineer

McHenry County DOT

Illinois Incident Command Center: Managing Emergencies

Jonathon Monken

Director, Illinois Emergency Mgt. Agency Tom Korty

Transportation Infrastructure Security Advisor, IDOT

11:30 – 12:00 Noon

ADM’s Intermodal Ramp

Greg Webb

VP State Government Relations, ADM

Larry Tate

Product Director, Mining Products Division, Caterpillar Inc.

Ron Ingram

Supply Chain Manager

Caterpillar Inc.

IDOT's Uber Green “Total Recycle Asphalt” Mix

Abdul Dahhan

Bureau Chief of Materials, IDOT

David Lippert

Retired IDOT Engineer of Materials & Physical Research

Transportation Asset Management

John Burkhardt

Senior Account Executive

AgileAssets, Inc.

12:00-1:00 PM


1:00 – 1:30 PM

A P3 Case Study: Walmart/US-50 Interchange with Roundabouts

Brian Eads

Project Manager,

Crawford, Murphy & Tilly, Inc.

When is Being Soft OK?

Jay Behnke

President & CEO


Sustainable Solutions to Equipment Fleet Management

Mark Stratton

General Manager Remanufacturing Caterpillar Inc.

1:30 – 2:00 PM

Freight and Intermodal Mobility Kevin Schoeben

Deputy Director

Office of Planning and Programming


Warm Mix: Contractor

Perspective & Benefits

John Lavallee

Quality Control Supervisor

Curran Contracting

Winter Service, the Swedish Way

Jan Ölander

Senior Advisor

Swedish Transport Administration

2:00 – 2:30 PM

Mississippi River Bridge

Jeff Keirn

Deputy Director Highways

Region 5 Engineer, IDOT

Jeff Church

D8 Project Implementation Engr., IDOT

High Friction Surface Treatments

- A Safer Pavement

Frank Julian

Safety Engineer

Federal Highway Administration

2:30 – 3:00 PM


3:00 – 3:30 AM

Perspectives and Prospects on Illinois Infrastructure

The Honorable Illinois Governor Pat Quinn

Presentation of the Heartland Sustainability Award to

Secretary Ann Schneider, Illinois Department of Transportation

3:30 – 4:00 PM

Illinois Chamber Comments

Doug Whitley, President and CEO, Illinois Chamber of Commerce

4:00 – 4:30 PM

Illinois Tollway Update
Kristi Lafleur, Executive Director, Illinois Tollway

4:30 – 7:00 PM




6:30 – 7:45 AM

Registration and Breakfast

7:50 – 8:30 AM


An Innovative Surveyor is Helping Deliver the Solution

Mike Ring, Vice President of Survey, Environmental Design International, Inc.

IDOT Mentor-Protégé: Rewards and Challenges from a DBE Perspective

Mr. Jorge Moreno, President, CivCon Services,Inc.

8:30 – 9:00 AM

Feasibility of VMT for Illinois

The Honorable John Cullerton, President of the Illinois Senate

9:00 – 10:00 AM

Chaired by

Senator Martin Sandoval, Chairman
Illinois Senate Transportation Committee

Invited Panelists:

Rep. Dan Beiser, Chairman
Illinois House Transportation Committee

Sen. Karen McConnaughay, Minority Spokesperson
Illinois Senate Transportation Committee

Sen. William Haine
Sen. David Koehler
Sen. Darin LaHood
Sen. Kwame Raoul
Rep. Mike Unes

Ann Schneider, IL Secretary of Transport
Kay Batey, Division Administrator, Federal Highway Administration

10:00 – 10:30 AM



Transportation Track

Asphalt Track

Operations and Equipment Track

10:30 – 11:00 AM

Park Over Highway (I-70) at

the St. Louis Arch

Jim Middleton

Project Manager

Missouri DOT

Specs for Tack Coat &

Trackless Tack in Illinois

Jim Trepanier

Hot Mix Asphalt Operations Engineer


Super Bowl Traffic Management

Jeremiah Shirk

Chief of Staff, Dept. of Public Works

City of Indianapolis

11:00 – 11:30 AM

Chicago's Protected Bike Lane Initiative

David Smith

Bikeways Project Manager

Chicago DOT

HMA Quality Control for

Performance: A Local Perspective

Thomas Winkelman

Acting Local Program Dev. Engineer


Please attend a Transportation

or Asphalt Presentation

11:30 – 12:00 PM

Illinois Department of Transportation Update

Ann Schneider, Secretary of Transportation, Illinois Department of Transportation

12:15 PM


Buses depart the hotel at 12:15 PM.  Shuttle departs the Caterpillar Visitor Center and

will bring guests back to the hotel at 1:30, 2:00, 2:30, 3:00, and 3:30 PM